Browse Items (5 total)

  • Tags: Horse of the Year

Keeneland Library Morgan Collection - Whirlaway, E. Arcaro up, wins Kentucky Derby 05.03.1941.tif
Whirlaway with Eddie Arcaro up wins the 1941 Kentucky Derby by eight lengths. An eventual Hall of Famer, Whirlaway earned back-to-back Horse of the Year titles in 1941 and 1942.

Keeneland Library Meadors Collection - Round Table, Ralph Neves up, Blue Grass Stakes at Keeneland, 1957.jpg
Future Racing Hall of Famers Round Table and Ralph Neves parade to post before winning the 1957 Blue Grass by 6 lengths over One-Eyed King. Round Table earned a Horse of the Year title in 1958 and was leading sire in North America in 1972.

Keeneland Association Bill Straus - Skip Away, Shane Sellers up, Blue Grass Stakes at Keeneland 1996.jpg
This photograph showcases Skip Away, Shane Sellers up, capturing the 1996 Toyota Blue Grass Stakes by 6 lengths. The victory gave Shane Sellers his first of three Blue Grass Stakes wins.

Keeneland Association Bill Straus - Alysheba, Chris McCarron up, racing Blue Grass Stakes at Keeneland April 23 1987.jpg
1987 Champion Three-Year-Old Male, 1988 Horse of the Year, and future Racing Hall of Famer Alysheba, Chris McCarron up, in the 1987 running of the Blue Grass Stakes. Alysheba won the race but was disqualified and placed to third, giving trainer D.…

Keeneland Association - Our Boots, Conn McCreary up, leading in Blue Grass Stakes, Whirlaway in 2nd, at Keeneland, 1941.jpg
This photograph from the 1941 Blue Grass Stakes captures future Hall of Famer Whirlaway trailing Our Boots, Conn McCreary up, while the crowd looks on. Despite the victory for Our Boots the horse would place 8th in the Kentucky Derby, while Whirlaway…
Output Formats

atom, dcmes-xml, json, omeka-xml, rss2